Mark O'Neill

Mark O'Neill

VP Analyst
Mark O'Neill is a VP Analyst and Chief of Research for Software Engineering. He guides Gartner's insights on software development, application architecture, and frameworks and tools for building software, spanning key initiatives in Gartner for IT Leaders as well as Gartner for Technical Professionals. Mark also leads Gartner's API Strategy research community. With his security and startup background, his own research focus includes API security and the new wave of API-first companies. Mark is a frequent conference speaker and webinar presenter.
Read More Read Less
Thursday, 16 June, 2022 / 10:00 AM - 10:45 AM JST
(Wednesday, 15 June, 2022 / 09:00 PM - 09:45 PM EDT)
Opening Keynote: Architect for Growth, Build for Change

Transform your business and gain competitive advantage with composable applications and design-led approach. This must be achieved in an agile and proactive manner, not only following reactively. This transformation demands a whole spectrum of initiatives including business model, organization, process, practice, application architecture and technologies. We start our summit with this key guidance.

Thursday, 16 June, 2022 / 03:55 PM - 04:25 PM JST
(02:55 AM - 03:25 AM EDT)
API Security: How to Protect Your APIs From Vulnerabilities and Breaches

As API breaches become commonplace, API security has grown in importance. APIs are now widely used in application development and integration, but are attractive targets since they access applications and data. In this session, you will learn the typical threat surface for APIs, vulnerability paths, and examples of breaches. You will then learn what techniques and technologies can protect APIs .

Friday, 17 June, 2022 / 03:30 PM - 04:00 PM JST
(02:30 AM - 03:00 AM EDT)
API Trends: Graph APIs, Microservices, Multigateway, and Multicloud Architectures

The world of APIs is changing, with graph APIs, including GraphQL, growing in popularity. At the same time, API management is also changing, as organizations increasingly use multiple API gateways across their application architecture. This includes the use of microservices and service mesh. In this session, attendees will learn about new API trends and how their organization can adapt and react.

Friday, 17 June, 2022 / 04:20 PM - 05:05 PM JST
(03:20 AM - 04:05 AM EDT)
Closing Keynote

During the conference, you have learned how to use modern application and software engineering strategy to make a business impact. This strategy includes taking design-led approach, building composable applications and leveraging new innovations. In the closing keynote, we describe who to take this guidance and apply it in your own organization.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.