Frank Buytendijk

Frank Buytendijk

Distinguished VP Analyst
Frank Buytendijk is a Distinguished VP and Gartner Fellow in Gartner's Data and Analytics group. His work mostly takes a futurist approach, researching the edges of what he covers. Mr. Buytendijk pioneers the topics of "the future," "digital ethics" and "digital society" helping organizations to do the "right thing" with technology and avoid "messing up." He further covers data and analytics.

In addition to that, he is the co-lead of the Gartner Maverick Research program which is Gartner's research incubator.

Next to his responsibilities at Gartner, Mr. Buytendijk is a visiting Fellow at Cranfield University School of Management, and a regular guest lecturer at Warwick Business School.
Read More Read Less
Tuesday, 08 June, 2021 / 10:45 AM - 11:15 AM AEST
(Monday, 07 June, 2021 / 08:45 PM - 09:15 PM EDT)
The Foundation of a Modern Data and Analytics Strategy

"What should my data and analytics strategy look like" is one of the most common inquiries Gartner’s D&A research community gets. This is because the role of data and analytics is changing. From being a discipline of itself to becoming a set of capabilities in support of the wider digital strategy. This presentation will share the best practices that have emerged from hundreds of document reviews and thousands of inquiries.

Wednesday, 09 June, 2021 / 10:45 AM - 11:15 AM AEST
(Tuesday, 08 June, 2021 / 08:45 PM - 09:15 PM EDT)
Future of Data and Analytics: Reengineering the Decision 2025

Decision making is a core capability for every organization, and it is becoming more complex. Decisions are becoming more connected, more contextual and more continuous. D&A leaders must prepare to reengineer decision making, and ultimately make business decision making a competitive differentiator.

Wednesday, 09 June, 2021 / 01:45 PM - 02:15 PM AEST
(Tuesday, 08 June, 2021 / 11:45 PM - 12:15 AM EDT)
Digital Ethics: From “Why” To “How”

Digital Ethics is a mainstream topic now and every D&A leader needs to address this. Many executives worry about the unintended consequences of the use of data and technology, particularly concerning AI. Some have even defined their set of principles. But how you do operationalize these principles? And how do you address the dilemmas that come with digital ethics?

Wednesday, 09 June, 2021 / 02:30 PM - 03:00 PM AEST
(12:30 AM - 01:00 AM EDT)
Ask the Expert: Digital Ethics

Join this Ask the Expert session to learn more about digital ethics.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.