Donald Feinberg

Donald Feinberg

Distinguished VP Analyst
Donald Feinberg is a Vice President and Distinguished Analyst in the Gartner ITL Data and Analytics group. Mr. Feinberg is responsible for Gartner's research on database management systems and data warehousing infrastructure and big data.
Read More Read Less
Tuesday, 18 May, 2021 / 01:45 PM - 02:15 PM CEST
(07:45 AM - 08:15 AM EDT)
How to Avoid Data Lake Failures

Everyone wants a data lake, but most attempts fail to live up to hype around this concept. This session explores the multiple reasons why data lakes fail and how you can avoid the traps. Specifically, this session covers:
- What are the major scenarios for data lake failures?
- How can you detect and correct these scenarios?

Tuesday, 18 May, 2021 / 02:30 PM - 03:00 PM CEST
(08:30 AM - 09:00 AM EDT)
Ask the Expert: Choosing the Right DBMS for Your Project

There are literally hundreds of choices for a DBMS — relational, nonrelational, open source, multimodel, dbPaaS. The confusion in the market grows daily about how to choose a DBMS, what is available, should I use open source and how to decide between relational and nonrelational. We will answer your questions on these topics and best practices for making a DBMS decision. *Access to this session is restricted to those that are not part of an organization/company that provides services, products or solutions to professionals in the industry.

Thursday, 20 May, 2021 / 01:45 PM - 02:30 PM CEST
(07:45 AM - 08:30 AM EDT)
Top Trends in Data and Analytics, 2021

AI is not the only thing driving rapid change in data and analytics. From the next generation of augmented user experiences and beyond, composing and operationalizing data and analytics at scale, engineering decision intelligence, and relating everything, to enabling data and analytics at the edge, there is a rapid evolution in how and where analysis can be deployed. Understanding the business impact of these changes will allow organizations to resource optimize, accelerate change, drive innovation and transform society over the next three years.

Learn how Data and analytics leaders can leverage these trends into “must-have” investments to anticipate, shift and accelerate transformation in the face of disruption, uncertainty and opportunity.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.