Neil MacDonald

Neil MacDonald

Distinguished VP Analyst
Neil MacDonald is a Vice President, Distinguished Analyst and Gartner Fellow Emeritus in Gartner Research, based in Stamford, Connecticut. Mr. MacDonald is a member of Gartner's information security, privacy and risk research team, focusing on securing next-generation virtualized and cloud-based computing environments. Specific research areas include container/serverless security, protection of hybrid cloud and IaaS workloads and applications, and protection from advanced and targeted attacks with adaptive security architectures based on a continuous adaptive risk and trust assessment (CARTA) strategic approach. His most recent research area explores the convergence of network and network security as a service into a cloud-based secure access service edge (SASE), enabling zero trust, anywhere/anytime access for a digital business and workforce.
Read More Read Less
Tuesday, 23 November, 2021 / 12:00 PM - 12:30 PM GMT
(07:00 AM - 07:30 AM EST)
Emerging Technologies in Security and Risk Management

This session will highlight some of the most critical emerging technologies in security and risk management and some of the key trends driving such innovation.

Tuesday, 23 November, 2021 / 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM GMT
(07:00 AM - 07:45 AM EST)
Ask the Expert: Creating a Bulletproof Infrastructure With Constant Threat From Ransomware. Fact or Fiction?

In this session you will have answers to question such as: where do I start with ransomware prevention and recovery? What is an isolated recovery environment? Can I build my own ransomware defense or do I need to buy it? What are the important components in ransomware defense?

Tuesday, 23 November, 2021 / 03:00 PM - 03:30 PM GMT
(10:00 AM - 10:30 AM EST)
How to Implement Consistent Security and Compliance in a Hybrid Multicloud World

Most enterprises will have data centers for years to come and most have adopted a multicloud strategy by design, making consistent security difficult. This presentation will outline a hierarchical framework of security controls and processes for the consistent management and security of a hybrid multicloud environment composed of physical machines, virtual machines, containers and serverless workloads.

Tuesday, 23 November, 2021 / 03:45 PM - 04:15 PM GMT
(10:45 AM - 11:15 AM EST)
A Pragmatic Approach to Implementing a Zero Trust Security Architecture

Changes in the threat landscape and ineffectiveness of current security architectures have created significant interest in zero trust security architectures. This presentation will pragmatically explore zero trust, zero trust networking and extend these concepts to operating systems, applications, users and data. Topics will include the NIST standard for zero trust as well as technologies and vendors providing solutions.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.