Security and risk management leaders struggle to mature their cyber and IT risk management practices beyond conducting risk assessments. Gartner has identified 10 specific risk management processes, listed below, that are considered to be the fundamental components required to ensure success of cyber and IT risk management within your organization:

  • Identify Scope and Include Potential Risk Events
  • Conduct Business Impact Analysis
  • Identify Control Requirements
  • Conduct Risk Assessment and Evaluate Controls
  • Document Risks in a Risk Register and Continual Communication
  • Embed Risk Assessment, Security Testing and Governance in Project Life Cycle
  • Embed an Organizational Wide Attitude to Risk Treatment
  • Monitor Loss Exposures and Other Indicators
  • Invest in Technical Debt Reduction