Brian Lowans

Brian Lowans

Sr Director Analyst
Brian Lowans, Ph.D., MBA is a Senior Director Analyst within the Secure Business Enablement group, which is part of the Information Security and Privacy research organization of Gartner Research. Dr. Lowans focuses on a range of data security issues, including data security governance, data risk and infonomics, structured and unstructured data encryption and tokenization, data-centric audit and protection, encryption key management, cloud data security issues, and electronic signatures, as well as other information security, privacy and risk topics.
Read More Read Less
Monday, 29 November, 2021 / 10:15 AM - 10:45 AM CET
(04:15 AM - 04:45 AM EST)
CISO Circle Exclusive: Welcome & Orientation

This session, exclusive to CISO Circle attendees, will give you an overview of the sessions that comprise the special program, enabling you to select the sessions that are best suited to you. The CISO Circle is designed to be highly interactive, giving you an opportunity to network and share best practices and experiences with your peers. This session will kick-start that process, enabling you to connect with your fellow CISO Circle members and prepare for the discussions throughout the conference.

Tuesday, 30 November, 2021 / 10:15 AM - 10:45 AM CET
(04:15 AM - 04:45 AM EST)
CISO Circle Peer Conversation: Communicating Effectively with Your Board About Cyber Security

One of the key challenges that many CISOs face is how to engage effectively with the Board to ensure they receive the information they need to support risk-informed cybersecurity decision making. Often, Board reports are either too tactical or don’t provide the actionable insights the Board needs to help support the CISO’s agenda. Join this lightly moderated session session to share your experiences and ideas on effective communication with your board.

Wednesday, 01 December, 2021 / 12:00 PM - 12:45 PM CET
(06:00 AM - 06:45 AM EST)
Ask the Expert: Use a Data Risk Assessment to Focus Actions on the Growing Data Security

A data risk assessment is critical to review the growing risks associated with data breaches and deployments across multi-cloud architectures. Use this session to discuss emerging best practices.

Wednesday, 01 December, 2021 / 03:45 PM - 04:15 PM CET
(09:45 AM - 10:15 AM EST)
Successful Data Security Governance Must Focus on Balancing Risks and Business Outcomes

Data security projects can create negative business impacts without support from the business leaders. It is critical to use data security governance in cooperation with a business sponsor to focus on business outcomes while managing achievable levels of risk mitigation.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.