Jeffrey Wheatman

Jeffrey Wheatman

VP Analyst
Jeffrey Wheatman is a Research VP in Gartner Research, where Mr. Wheatman regularly advises clients on a wide range of security and IT risk management issues, with a focus on strategy, team building, metrics and reporting, communicating techniques and risk management. As an experienced analyst within Gartner's S&RM team, he works with senior security and risk management leaders to help them identify, assess and treat IT-related risks within their environments.
Read More Read Less
Monday, 14 September, 2020 / 12:30 PM - 01:00 PM BST
(06:30 AM - 07:00 AM CDT)
Welcome and Keynote: Balance Risk, Trust and Opportunity in an Uncertain World

The pandemic, trade disputes, economic uncertainty: the environment our enterprises operate in are becoming increasingly unpredictable. Greater uncertainty results in greater risk. However, turmoil also presents opportunity, and digitalization offers innovative means for navigating uncertainty. As a security and risk leader, you must establish and maintain the ability of your organization to function as a trusted participant in the digital economy.

Monday, 14 September, 2020 / 02:45 PM - 03:15 PM BST
(08:45 AM - 09:15 AM CDT)
Five Steps to Creating a Simple Business-Aligned Cybersecurity Strategy

Everyone knows how important strategic planning is for success and yet it is an immense challenge … for pretty much everyone. Join us to learn a simple approach that can be used to create a simple story that links security program activities to business goals in a way the drives better decisions.
. What makes a good strategy?
. What kind of narratives work?
. What does a sample strategy look like?

Monday, 14 September, 2020 / 02:45 PM - 03:30 PM BST
(08:45 AM - 09:30 AM CDT)
CISO Circle: How to Have an Engaging Conversation With Your CEO/Board About Risk

It is now common practice for boards of directors/CEOs to require periodic reporting and event-based updates on the state of security and risk management in an enterprise. Developing and communicating an effective message that balances the need to protect with the need to run your business is critical. However, there is a big disconnect between what security and risk leaders are presenting to executives and what they actually care about. Join us in this session to discuss tools and narratives to get CEOs/Boards to the table and to keep them engaged.

Thursday, 17 September, 2020 / 03:00 PM - 03:45 PM BST
(09:00 AM - 09:45 AM CDT)
Roundtable: Are CISOs Ready to Be Board Members?

Cyber security is increasingly a topic of discussion at the board level, with over 80% of directors required to routinely discuss cybersecurity in the boardroom, yet 66% of directors lack confidence in their companies’ cybersecurity program. This lack of confidence undermines the board’s fiduciary duty with an obvious solution to get more CISO’s in to board positions, however this is not yet happening. Join this roundtable to discuss where CISO’s are ready to be board members.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.