Tom Scholtz

Tom Scholtz

Distinguished VP Analyst
Tom Scholtz is a Research Vice President and Gartner Fellow Emeritus. Mr. Scholtz also completed a term as the Chief of Research for Security and Risk Management. He advises clients on security management strategies and trends, and is an acknowledged authority on information security governance, security strategy, security organizational dynamics, and security management processes. Based in the U.K., he is a regular presenter at European industry events.
Read More Read Less
Monday, 14 September, 2020 / 03:30 PM - 04:00 PM BST
(10:30 AM - 11:00 AM EDT)
The Economics of Cyber Security: Using the ‘Dismal Science’ to Make Better Security Decisions

Economics is called “the dismal science” because scarce resources mean not every need can be met. As a security and risk leader with unlimited challenges and limited resources, you face difficult decisions about what to prioritize. Is there a better way to balance digital business opportunity against cyber risk? What are the opportunity costs of your security investments? How can you articulate the business value of security? If you treat data as a financial asset, can economic models help you make more effective investment decisions? In this keynote, we’ll look at how looking at security and risk dilemmas through the lens of economics can help you make better decisions. We will also discuss trends in security spending, and introduce new tools, models and concepts to help you understand the impact of tradeoffs, improve cost optimization and evaluate where resources will have the greatest impact on security and the business.

Tuesday, 15 September, 2020 / 11:30 AM - 12:00 PM BST
(06:30 AM - 07:00 AM EDT)
Peer Conversations: Top Security and Risk Challenges Facing Public Sector Organizations

Working in the public sector presents unique challenges and requirements for security, risk and IAM leaders. Join this lightly facilitated session to share your experiences and ideas with your public sector peers.

Thursday, 17 September, 2020 / 02:30 PM - 03:00 PM BST
(09:30 AM - 10:00 AM EDT)
Security Program Governance Best Practices for Digital Transformation

Effective governance should be a cornerstone of security programs and ineffective governance is the most common cause of failure. Security and risk leaders need to implement governance capabilities that support accountability, authority, risk management and assurance. This presentation will share strategies for establishing effective, adaptive security governance to enable digital transformation.

Thursday, 17 September, 2020 / 03:15 PM - 03:45 PM BST
(10:15 AM - 10:45 AM EDT)
Developing an Agile Cybersecurity Program for the Post-COVID-19 World: Lessons Learned From the Pandemic

In the post-COVID-19 renewal phase, enterprises are rapidly adopting new digital technologies to help reset their business strategies. This results in new cybersecurity risks and challenges. Cybersecurity programs must react to this new reality — they must become much more agile to help manage the risk inherent in this seismic shift to digitalization, and also become better prepared for the next global shock. This presentation shares practical advice on how to reengineer security programs to become agile.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.