Ant Allan

Ant Allan

VP Analyst
Ant Allan is a Vice President Analyst in Gartner Research. He is a core member of the Identity and Access Management (IAM) research community and the IT Leaders' IAM practice. Mr. Allan specializes in user authentication and other identity corroboration technologies, along with supporting processes, policies and best practices.
Read More Read Less
Tuesday, May 11, 2021 / 01:15 PM - 01:45 PM EDT
(05:15 PM - 05:45 PM GMT)
Take Three Steps Towards Passwordless Authentication

Security and UX are key drivers for passwordless authentication. But the label tells us only what’s /not/ being used - and there are many passwordless technologies, some decades old. What are the most effective approaches? Where do novel methods add value? What is the role of FIDO2? Can a continuous adaptive trust (CAT) approach enable passwordless flows? How can you craft a cohesive strategy across multiple use cases?

Tuesday, May 11, 2021 / 02:45 PM - 03:15 PM EDT
(06:45 PM - 07:15 PM GMT)
Ask the Expert: Top Practices for User Authentication — With or Without Passwords

This session gives you an opportunity to ask your questions about user authentication, whether they're about choice of methods and vendors (Who has the best mobile push offering?), delivery options (Should this be discrete from our access management tool?), roll-out projects and ongoing administration (What are the key success factors?), or strategic trends (When can we go passwordless?).

Wednesday, May 12, 2021 / 03:15 PM - 03:45 PM EDT
(07:15 PM - 07:45 PM GMT)
Face Value: Biometric Authentication Risks and Opportunities

Everyone has inherent physical and behavioral traits that can provide a uniquely personal basis for authentication in place of passwords or tokens. These biometric methods can transform authentication user experience across a multitude of channels. But how can you effectively mitigate privacy concerns, presentation attacks and other risks? And what value will biometrics add to continuous adaptive trust (CAT) strategies?

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.