Hank Barnes

Hank Barnes

Distinguished VP Analyst
Hank Barnes is a Chief of Research, focused on Enterprise Buying Behavior, in Gartner's Tech and Service Provider team.

Mr. Barnes guides Gartner's research efforts to understand the dynamics, challenges, and frustrations enterprises face when buying technology products and services.

The research shapes our advice to those responsible for marketing technology products and services, general managers responsible for product portfolios, and startup CEOs--with a goal of helping them make better, faster decisions and improved execution plans to drive success for their customers and their business.
Read More Read Less
Tuesday, July 12, 2022 / 11:00 AM - 11:45 AM EDT
(10:00 AM - 10:45 AM CDT)
Keynote: Confronting the Customer Power Paradox

The modern technology customer has access to more options and information than ever before, but often regrets their decisions. The frustrations are expanding as technology decisions are more democratized The paradox between more power and more regret impacts growth strategies. This opening keynote confronts the modern buying model and lays out a path forward.

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 / 01:45 PM - 02:30 PM EDT
(12:45 PM - 01:30 PM CDT)
Ask the Expert: Advanced Storytelling Approaches

The fundamentals of sound positioning and storytelling are well understood by many, but going beyond the fundamentals can lead to higher impact. This session will share ideas on advanced approaches and provide an opportunity to share your questions and ideas for immediate feedback.

Tuesday, July 12, 2022 / 03:45 PM - 04:30 PM EDT
(02:45 PM - 03:30 PM CDT)
Ask the Expert: Adapting Strategies in Light of the New Chasm and Gartner's Enterprise Technology Adoption Profiles

Markets are not static; customers don't all behave the same way. This session invites attendees to dive into the dynamics of a second chasm (beyond the first defined in "Crossing the Chasm" by Geoffrey Moore) and how understanding psychographics of buyer segments can help refine strategies.

Join us to hear from Gartner experts and thought leaders.