Gartner Research

Four Operating Models for Government Shared Services

Published: 18 March 2011

ID: G00210658

Analyst(s): Massimiliano Claps


There are four types of operating models that can be used for government shared services. This research will guide IT and non-IT executives to select the most suitable option for their shared-service program.

Table Of Contents
  • Overview
  • Centralized
  • Hierarchical
  • Peer-to-Peer
  • Joint
  • Selecting the most appropriate operating Model

©2021 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.