Gartner Research

Federated Architecture Diagnostic: Understanding the Four Levels of Enterprise Architecture Consolidation

Published: 19 June 2012

ID: G00234790

Analyst(s): Bjorn Tuft, Brian Burke


Complex organizations are becoming more integrated, but enterprise architects are challenged to determine how EA components should be consolidated across the organization. By understanding the four levels of consolidation, enterprise architects can determine the appropriate level of consolidation.

Table Of Contents
  • Key Challenges


  • Level 1: Autonomous
  • Level 2: Interoperable
  • Level 3: Replicated
  • Level 4: Shared
  • What Enterprise Architects Must Do Next

Recommended Reading

©2021 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Purchase this Document

To purchase this document, you will need to register or sign in above

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.