Gartner Research

A Cultural Maturity Model for Reuse

Published: 03 August 2012

ID: G00231305

Analyst(s): Andy Kyte


Reuse is generally understood to be a good thing, but, like common sense, it is quite uncommon. This maturity model explains the five levels of reuse, and enables IT management teams to assess their current state and devise plans to improve.

Table Of Contents


  • Five Levels of Cultural Maturity in Reuse
    • Level 1: Personal Reuse
    • Level 2: Team Reuse
    • Level 3: Departmental Reuse
    • Level 4: Enterprise Reuse
    • Level 5: Global Reuse

Recommended Reading

©2021 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.