Gartner Research

ITScore for Information Security

Published: 29 February 2016

ID: G00301271

Analyst(s): F. Christian Byrnes, Jeffrey Wheatman, Tom Scholtz


A comprehensive information security program can significantly limit the enterprise's exposure to business-critical risks. Chief information security officers should use Gartner's ITScore maturity assessment to continuously assess and improve the maturity of their risk control processes.

Table Of Contents


  • An Introduction to the ITScore Approach to Information Security Maturity
  • Measured Dimensions

Overview of Maturity Levels or Phases

Level Descriptions

  • Level 1: Initial
  • Level 2: Developing
  • Level 3: Defined
  • Level 4: Managed
  • Level 5: Optimizing

How to Use This Assessment

  • Directions for Use

Gartner Recommended Reading

©2020 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.