Gartner Research

Four Key IT Service Management Frameworks

Published: 26 April 2016

ID: G00307971

Analyst(s): Colleen Young


IT service management continues to gain ground as a strategic IT management discipline. Four distinct decision, planning and management frameworks are required to consistently deliver the right services at the right quality and price.

Table Of Contents
  • Overview


  • The Four Key ITSM Frameworks
  • The Service Portfolio
  • The Service Catalog
  • The Process-to-Service Map
  • The IT Service View CMDB
  • Conclusion

Recommended Reading

©2021 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.