Gartner Research

CRM Application Functionality Starfish

Published: 16 August 2016

ID: G00314152

Analyst(s): Ed Thompson


CRM functionality falls into five main categories: sales, marketing, customer service, field service and digital commerce, as well as cross-CRM applications. CRM leaders looking to upgrade their company's CRM applications should use this research to assess CRM categories before looking at vendors.

Table Of Contents


  • How Gartner Categorizes CRM Application Functionality
  • Implications of Gartner's CRM Application Functionality Categories

Gartner Recommended Reading

©2021 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.