Gartner Research

Stages of Procurement Maturity

Published: 29 January 2014

ID: G00386157

Analyst(s): Procurement Research Team


Use the Stages of Procurement Maturity to assess the current state of your Procurement function and what's required to get to the next level of maturity. The four stages of maturity are no procurement discipline, professionalized procurement, mature strategic sourcing and mature portfolio management. The Stages of Procurement Maturity defines Procurement Policy, P2P, Sourcing, Organizational Structure, Talent Management, Internal Stakeholder Management and Supplier Management.

©2021 Gartner, Inc. and/or its affiliates. All rights reserved. Gartner is a registered trademark of Gartner, Inc. and its affiliates. This publication may not be reproduced or distributed in any form without Gartner’s prior written permission. It consists of the opinions of Gartner’s research organization, which should not be construed as statements of fact. While the information contained in this publication has been obtained from sources believed to be reliable, Gartner disclaims all warranties as to the accuracy, completeness or adequacy of such information. Although Gartner research may address legal and financial issues, Gartner does not provide legal or investment advice and its research should not be construed or used as such. Your access and use of this publication are governed by Gartner’s Usage Policy. Gartner prides itself on its reputation for independence and objectivity. Its research is produced independently by its research organization without input or influence from any third party. For further information, see Guiding Principles on Independence and Objectivity.

Already have a Gartner Account?

Become a client

Learn how to access this content as a Gartner client.