IT Glossary

Bank Tiers

Bank tiers can be defined as follows:

  • Tier 1 includes between 20 and 25 global bank assets and/or capital markets price makers with daily trading volume exceeding 50,000 transactions. These banks want software using open architecture on a framework on which they can leverage tools, such as analytics.
  • Tier 2 constitutes about 200 international and national banks and/or capital markets price takers, as well as trading volume averaging about 30,000 transactions daily. Such banks seek new technology with a complete vertical integration of functions. Cross-asset functionality is not a concern, except for structuring deals because of the specialized focus of their trading businesses. They desire analytics and a front- to back-office suite to improve transparency and risk management.
  • Tier 3 consists of approximately 1,000 banks, including smaller national and regional banks, and capital markets price takers. These banks want cross-asset platforms, but don’t have the requisite IT resources in-house and must rely on vendors. Their biggest concern is implementation risk.
  • Tier 4 comprises smaller regional institutions with a primary focus on core banking and limited capital markets trading. Such firms often source their capital markets requirements through third parties and tend to use an ASP approach.

Become a Client

Call us now at:

+1 800-213-4848


Contact us online 

Free Research
Discover what 12,000 CIOs and Senior IT leaders already know.
Free Access

Stay Informed About New Special Reports