Information Technology

Gartner Glossary

Six Sigma

Six Sigma is a collection of techniques used to design, improve and deliver high-quality processes and business outcomes. It derives its name from the statistical concept level 6 standard deviation (6 sigma deviation) from the process norm that is generally understood to represent 3.4 defects per million opportunities. Standard process steps are followed to minimize and control variability, as well as eliminate defects. For design of a new process, common process steps are often DMADV (i.e., Define needs, Measure critical to quality items, Analyse processes, Design product or service, and Verify need alignment). For process improvement, common process steps are often DMAIC (i.e., Define opportunity, Measure performance, Analyze opportunity, Improve performance, and Control performance).

Experience Gartner conferences

Master your role, transform your business and tap into an unsurpassed peer network through our world-leading virtual and in-person conferences.

Gartner Webinars

Expert insights and strategies to address your priorities and solve your most pressing challenges.